Day 9 (June 15 2014) Revelstoke to Rogers Pass

I was really tired when I woke up. I think the 8 days straight of riding a bicycle is catching up to me. My biking shoes were still soaking wet from the day before, so couldn’t wear them. I had to wear sandals. Looked pretty silly, but better than going bare foot!

IMG_0263

I had some oatmeal, ate a banana and drank a gatorade, and was all set to go! Today the goal was Rogers Pass and then onto Golden. I could tell right off the bat that I was fatigued and not moving well, but I plodded on nonetheless.

IMG_0265 IMG_0266 IMG_0269IMG_0275

Came across this sign and thought it was pretty funny (never seen one like this before). What does it mean? Mountain goat may be balancing on a rock so be on a lookout?

IMG_0271

See this sign a bunch of times, always fun to know that you are in the line of fire from falling rocks!

IMG_0274

Came across Walter, who is riding from Calgary to San Francisco. Shawn, said he drove past him later on and he was unfortunately on the side of the road changing his tire.

IMG_0277

Some of the views on the way up

IMG_0278 IMG_0279 IMG_0280 IMG_0282

Then came across the dreaded tunnels!! Apparently, the goal is to pedal as quickly as you can through these things. Shawn drove right behind me slowly to make doubly sure I made it through these tunnels (thank you Shawn!!)

IMG_0286 IMG_0291 IMG_0293

I had 20kms to go to get to Rogers Pass after these tunnels. Here are some of the views along route:

IMG_0294 IMG_0297 IMG_0298 IMG_0299

It was a long uphill to get to Rogers Pass. I was really happy to get there. It took me 5 1/2 hours to do 66kms from Revelstoke.

IMG_0301 IMG_0302

What was left? 84kms to Golden…. pretty much all downhill. Who would work their butt off biking uphill for hours and not reap the reward of sitting on their bum and doing close to nothing all the way down? Me! 🙂  I decided to call it a day. Shawn has an injured calf, and we figured he’d probably be ok going downhill, so he put on my helmet and got on my bicycle and headed through a few more tunnels (much longer and scarier than the ones I went through) going 63kms/hr. I drove behind him to ensure he didn’t get run over by the crazy fast trucks on this road! He seemed to have a blast. A part of me feels guilty that I didn’t ride the rest of the way to Golden, but when it started dumping rain shortly afterwards, I felt better about the decision. Riding downhill in pouring rain was not safe.

IMG_0305 IMG_0308 IMG_0310

If I’d had all my gear with me, there is no chance I’d have made it from Revelstoke to Golden in one shot. It would have likely taken me 7-8 hours at least just to get to Rogers Pass, in which case I would have found some spot along route close to the top to camp.

Shawn and I drove to Golden, next I will ride on to Lake Louise (hope the weather clears!)

6 comments

  1. What a beautiful ride, so scenic. I love hearing the stories about the other riders you are encountering along the way. You are a pretty amazing chick 🙂

Leave a Reply

