Hollyburn Peak, North Shore 10th July 2014

I’m usually pretty good about keeping up with these types of things; however, after I fell behind with writing about this hike, and the next one, I just kept putting it off and then it became overwhelming (I’ve got 4 hikes to blog about now). Doing things as they come up in bite sizes is a much better idea, versus leaving it until there is a ton to do all at once! I knew that, but here I am anyway 🙂 Don’t really have a proper excuse. I think you always have time for the things you really want to do. Not to say I didn’t want to blog about my hikes, just that other things took precedence. One of those things was work! Right around this hike I was in the midst of  the hiring process to hire someone to start and run the Greater Victoria Green Team. The very next day after this hike I was buried in interviews for a few days. Which was a very new experience for me, as I’d never been on the other side of the interview process.  Then I got buried in more work and missed writing about the next hike.. and once you’re behind, it’s easy to just keep getting further behind. It’s one of those things I really grapple with – I let work take over, and I need to get serious about balancing out my life with more non-work stuff!

When you take care of yourself outside of work (exercise, eat healthy, read a book, go for a hike/walk, visit with friends/family etc) you in essence create a healthier you, both mentally and physically – and you work more efficiently and effectively and ultimately produce better work. So, if I truly want to excel at work, I have to excel at doing the outside of work things. I’m working on it. I’m sure most everyone struggles with maintaining balance. Anyway, back to the task at hand – blogging about Hollyburn Mountain!

Drove over to the Hollyburn trailhead (“the Cypress Mountain Vancouver outlook” if you google map it) with Shawn and met up with a couple of friends at 10.30am. The aim was to get to the top of Hollyburn. Not a long trail, but definitely steep for the last portion of it to the top. It was hot, a few mosquitoes were flying about. We took breaks in the shade. Hadn’t seen our friends in awhile and it was so nice to catch up on what they had been up to. They’re both entrepreneurs and veering off and blasting their own paths, which was really cool to hear about.

The trail was wide for the first while, then narrowed and became rocky and rooty.

DSC00430 DSC00432 DSC00434 DSC00435 DSC00436

Then it became a bit of a scramble towards the top, and had to use our hands

DSC00438

This was the top! There was a bit of pond and it was rocky. We also got to check out a grouse that walked by us like we weren’t there. A whiskey Jack landed on Shawn’s hand.

DSC00439 DSC00444 DSC00265

The views were awesome. Great view of the Lions

DSC00446 DSC00447 DSC00258 DSC00261

We had our lunches and headed down soon after. We were on the mountain for about 4 hours and completed 8kms according to our GPS. Fun hike, close to home.

Screen shot 2014-07-10 at 11.42.59 PM Screen shot 2014-07-10 at 11.44.01 PM

Leave a Reply

